Showing posts with label how to. Show all posts
Showing posts with label how to. Show all posts

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Tutorial: How to Draw a Clock Face with Adobe Illustrator?

Drawing a clock with Adobe Illustrator can be very difficult if you do not know the trick and technique. Here, in this tutorial, I will explain to you how to do it the simple way. 

First, draw 2 rectangles like the below. They must have the exact X coordinate. These rectangles will represent the hour of a clock.


Group them and Rotate it by 30 degree. Remember to use Copy function instead of just rotating it.




To repeat the rotation and Copy, go to Object > Transform > Transform Again. Repeat this until you get all the 12 rectangles.




Now, repeat the above steps for the minutes. Instead of rotating it by 30 degree, you should rotate this by 5 degree because these rectangles will represent the minutes. You may want to use a small rectangle for a better visual.



After you have successfully adding the minutes, you should now put the numbers. See the below for example. Remember, the number (text) should be Aligned Center. To do this, go to Window > Type > Paragraph.



 Using the same method, rotate the group by 30 degree to get the below.


Change all the numbers accordingly.


Now, you will have to rotate back the numbers to straight view. In order to do that, you will have to rotate them manually one by one using Object > Transform > Rotate. The below list may help you.

Hour 1 = 30 degree
Hour 2 = 60 degree
Hour 3 = 90 degree
Hour 4 = 120 degree
Hour 5 = 150 degree
Hour 6 = 180 degree
Hour 7 = 210 degree
Hour 8 = 240 degree
Hour 9 = 270 degree
Hour 10 = 300 degree
Hour 11 = 330 degree

After you have rotate them, you may notice that the alignment of the numbers and the clock are not accurate.


So, what you can do is to Expand the numbers into object. In order to do that, select all the numbers and go to Object > Expand. Once all your number is Expanded and Grouped, align them accordingly with the feature Window > Align. I believe you have no problem doing this, right?




To add the hands of the clock, draw the below. Yes, together with the blue circle outside the clock.


The usage of the blue circle is for you to rotate the hands. How you are going to do this is to Select both the circle and the hands - and Rotate them together.



My tutorial on how to draw a clock face ends here. If you have any question, please write in the comment :)

Below is an example of a vector watch I draw for IStockPhoto. For the details of pricing and number of downloads, please go to http://www.istockphoto.com/file_closeup.php?id=15216729


Wednesday, January 19, 2011

How to write a DMCA

DMCA stands for Digital Millennium Copyright Act. In case you found someone took your vector and sell it at certain agency, you can write a DMCA to the agency to request for the removal of the infringed item. Recently, someone took my artwork, modified it, and sell it at a specific agency. I have contacted the Support about it, but they have requested me to write them a DMCA. Below is a sample on how to write a DMCA.

My copyrighted work: [state your URL item here] 
The infinging item: [state the URL of the item that used your work]  
This is a copyright for the following reasons:
1. [state your reason on why/how you think he steals your work]
2. [state your reason on why/how you think he steals your work]
3. [state your reason on why/how you think he steals your work]
My info:
Name: [your name]
Address: [your full address]
Tel: [your telephone number]
Email: [your email address]
I have a good faith belief that use of the copyrighted materials described above as allegelly infringing is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law.
I swear, under penalty or perjury, that the information in the notification is accurate and that I am the copyright owner or am authorized to act on behalf of the owner of an exclusive right that is allegedly infringed.
[your signature here]

Once you have write the above, print it out, and then put your signature on it. After that, scan it into an image file (JPEG) and send it to agency by email.

I hope the above will help those in need of a DMCA sample.

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Tutorial: How to Create Stunning Background Effect with Gradient using Adobe Illustrator

Creating an artwork on a plain white background is boring. To make your artwork looks more stunning and expensive, you can add an intriguing background to it. This trick is very simple. All you will need to do is to create 4 squares with the same size and arrange it accordingly like the below example.


After you have arranged the 4 squares, pick the bottom left square and add a Gradient to it. Set the Gradient to Linear, 45 Degree angle, and Location 20. Remember not to have any Stroke Fill on it.


Repeat the above steps for rest of the squares. You will need to rotate the 3 other squares accordingly in order to achieve the effect below.


Now you are done. Go ahead and put some of your artwork on it, and you will realize that your artwork's value has increases :)

An example of a washing machine silhouette
on this stunning background effect.

Please share this tutorial if you love it.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Tutorial: How to Create a Banner Scroll Vector Using Adobe Illustrator

Have you ever been wondering by how vector artist able to come out with unique banner that curved so perfectly? Here is a step by step guide on how you can do it with Adobe Illustrator.

1. Use your Adobe Illustrator and draw the below examples. I guess you have no problem drawing the following, right? In order to make all your points overlap accurately, you can use the Grid Tools (View -> Snap To Grid).


2. Select one of the rectangle and use Warp (Effect -> Warp -> Flag) just like the below.


3. Repeat the above step for the rests of the objects until you are satisfied.


4. Group the whole banner and use the Warp tool again. This time use Warp -> Arc, and you will get a perfected scrolling banner like the below.


I am also selling this banner scroll at IStockPhoto.



If you love this tutorial, please share to your friends and colleagues.